Nominees can enter an award in one or more of the following categories:

Creative reuse and contemporary design in a heritage place

Sponsored by Regional Management Group

Changing or adapting the use of a redundant or disused place to a different purpose; construction of new additions or a contemporary building that has minimal impact on the significance of a heritage place.

Incorporation of sustainability principles in heritage restoration/adaptation

Incorporation of sustainability principles and innovative approaches to sustainable resource use in a heritage building.

Specialist heritage trade skills

Sponsored by Pyrenees Quarries

Recognising trades people who use specialist or traditional methods and craftsmanship to a very high standard.

Heritage advocacy

Recognising achievement in preservation, conservation and research of a heritage place or collection by an individual or group.

Adaptation and conservation of historic commercial spaces

Sponsored by Maldon & District Community Bank

Recognising sympathetic adaptation or restoration of historic shop fronts and retail businesses.

Restoration of a heritage place

Restoration work which restores the original fabric or preserves the integrity of a heritage place.